Governance Model


The School’s core activities are organised into the following main areas:

1. Teaching & Learning. Each of the three types of programmes offered by the School – undergraduate, graduate, and executive education/MBAs – is supervised by an Associate Dean. Each programme has an academic director, responsible for the academic and pedagogical coordination of the programme.

2. Service & Social Responsibility. The School has a significant number of initiatives related to service and social responsibility that are organic. Consulting services to the external community are provided by the School’s consulting unit (CEGEA).

3. Global Education. The School promotes the concept of Global Education, which looks at society as a multidimensional, complex and interconnected system, influenced by economic, cultural, political and environmental forces worldwide, and facing major ethics and sustainability challenges.

4. Faculty. Faculty is organised in two academic departments – Management and Economics.

These areas are supported by a set of Professional Services. The School has a number of consultation/deliberation bodies, including the Scientific and Pedagogical Councils, an Academic Advisory Board and a Societal Advisory Board.

The School Board

The Board of the Católica Porto Business School consists of a Dean, Rui Soucasaux Sousa, and four Associate Deans: Jorge Julião (Faculty & Research), Joana César Machado (Global Education), Helena Correia (Undergraduate Education), Gonçalo Faria (Graduate and Executive Education & Engagement).

The School Board has deliberative and executive functions, being responsible for strategy, operations and the School’s budget.


Fundamental research is carried out under the Research Centre in Management and Economics (CEGE), accredited by FCT, the Portuguese national agency for research. Applied research is mainly carried out under two centres corresponding to the areas of particular research strength in the School – LEAD.Lab (Leadership Lab) and S.Lab (Service Management Lab).

CEGEA provides consulting services in Management and Economics to the external community.

The Scientific Council

The Scientific Council, chaired by Arménio Rego, is the body that represents professors. It has consultative and deliberative functions in scientific and pedagogical matters.

The Pedagogical Council

The Pedagogical Council comprises representatives of students and faculty, gathering their perspectives on the curricula, the quality of educational services and major concerns regarding teaching and workloads.


The faculty is organised into two departments - Management and Economics – which in turn comprise a number of subject areas.

Societal Advisory Board

The Societal Advisory Board comprises national and international business and societal leaders. The Board advises the School regarding its strategic decisions, promoting a close connection with society.

Members of the Societal Advisory Board:
- Carlos Costa (Chair): Honorary Vice-President, European Investment Bank
- Alexandre Meireles: President, National Association of Young Entrepreneurs
- António Rios Amorim: CEO, Corticeira Amorim
- António Saraiva: President, Confederation of Portuguese Business
- Isabel Furtado: CEO, TMG Automotive; President, COTEC – Business Association for Innovation
- José Massano: Governor, National Bank of Angola
- Manuel Alves Monteiro: Non-executive member of corporate boards in Portugal and abroad

Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board comprises experienced Deans, Directors and members of faculty of reputed international schools, who provide advice on academic matters.

Members of the Academic Advisory Board:
- Piet Naudé (Chair), Full Professor, Stellenbosch Business School (South Africa)
- Ann Vereecke, Full Professor, Vlerick Business School (Belgium)
- Cristina Thomsen, Full Professor, ESADE (Spain)
- Mark Schankerman, Full Professor, London School of Economics (United Kingdom)
- Vanina Farber, Elea Professor for Social Innovation, IMD - Institute for Management Development (Switzerland)

Professional Services

The professional services are coordinated by the Head of School Administration and comprise:

Education Office (degree-granting programmes);

Executive Education unit (executive education and MBA programmes);

Global Education Office: promotion of Global Education and the internationalisation of the School;

Career and Development Office (CDO): promotion of students’ personal and professional development, connections to practice and Alumni relations;

Marketing and Communication Office: creating value and consolidating the school’s image and brand positioning among internal and external audiences;

Quality Improvement: management of teaching and learning quality as well as accreditations and rankings;

Research and Consulting Office: support to the research centre, labs and consulting unit.